Show MenuHide Menu

Our u3a


u3a (University of the Third Age) is a UK movement of retired and semi-retired people who come together to continue their educational, social and creative interests in a friendly and informal environment.

Member of local u3as draw upon their knowledge and experience to teach and learn from each other.  It’s all voluntary, run in informal activity sessions, covering hundreds of different subjects.

Weston Turville u3a first met in June 2010 and has grown to over 420 members meeting for various activities and outings throughout the month. 

We hold a monthly meeting on the fourth Thursday afternoon of every month except December at the Rugby Club, Brook End, Weston Turville at 2.30pm.

Many interest groups meet regularly and are organised individually by members who wish to learn more about or pass on experience of a particular subject, or to share in activities or outings.

Committee Members and Roles for 2022/2023

Post Name Email Address
Chairman Chris Bennett chairman@wtu3a.org.uk
Secretary / Accessibility Officer Rosemary Williams secretary@wtu3a.org.uk / accessibility@wtu3a.org.uk
Treasurer Sarah Gunn treasurer@wtu3a.org.uk
Membership Secretary Simon Evers membership@wtu3a.org.uk
Webmaster Heather Macknight webmaster@wtu3a.org.uk
Speaker Secretary Carol Johnson speaker.secretary@wtu3a.org.uk
WTu3a Groups Liaison Officer Ken Shaw groups@wtu3a.org.uk
Publicity Officer / Newsletter Editor Mike Wise newsletter@wtu3a.org.uk
Committee Member Jenny Hunt  
Committee Member Annie Edwards  
Committee Member Sylv Elliott  
Committee Member Vacant  
Committee Member Vacant  
Committee Member Vacant  

Non Committee Member roles for 2022/2023

Trips Organisers Jayne Lennard, Mandi Simons trips@wtu3a.org.uk
Christmas Meal Rosemary Williams, Sarah Gunn xmaslunch@wtu3a.org.uk
Monthly Meeting Refreshments Lorraine Tiernery refreshments@wtu3a.org.uk
Trusted Tradespeople Rosemary Williams trusted@wtu3a.org.uk
‘Meet and Greet’ Organiser Glenda Bennett meeters@wtu3a.org.uk

Membership

If you would like to join the Weston Turville u3a please click the link to view and print the New Member Application Form.   Complete and return using the instructions on the form.

If you have any membership queries, please contact the Membership Secretary, Simon Evers at membership@wtu3a.org.uk

Constitution

For the full text of our Constitution, please click (Constitution)

Newsletter

Please contact Mike Wise at newsletter@wtu3a.org.uk at least a two weeks before a monthly meeting to include articles in the newsletter.

Speaker Secretary

If you have heard a good speaker you think the Weston Turville u3a may enjoy listening to, please contact our Speaker Secretary, Carol Johnson at speaker.secretary@wtu3a.org.uk.

Our Privacy and Data Protection policies

See our Policies section here.  

Groups

Anyone belonging to the u3a may start a special interest group which may consist of just a few like-minded people upwards.  Our current groups range from Art to Walking and details can be found on the Group Activities page.  If you are interested in starting a new group,  full details about running a group at Weston Turville u3a can be found here, but please contact the Groups Liaison Officer in the first instance at groups@wtu3a.org.uk.