Your local U3A
Show MenuHide Menu

Our U3A

U3A (University of the Third Age) is a UK movement of retired and semi-retired people who come together to continue their educational, social and creative interests in a friendly and informal environment.

Members of local U3As draw upon their knowledge and experience to teach and learn from each other. It’s all voluntary, run in informal activity sessions, covering hundreds of different subjects.

Weston Turville U3A first met in June 2010 and has grown to over 450 members meeting for various activities and outings throughout the month. 

We hold a monthly meeting on the fourth Thursday afternoon of every month except December at the Rugby Club, Brook End, Weston Turville at 2.30pm.

Many interest groups meet regularly and are organised individually by members who wish to learn more about or pass on experience of a particular subject, or to share in activities or outings.

Committee Members and Roles for 2018/2019

Post Name Email Address
Chairman Ken Shaw chairman@wtu3a.org.uk
Vice Chairman Chris Bennett vice.chairman2wtu3a.org.uk
Secretary Rosemary Williams secretary@wtu3a.org.uk
Deputy Secretary Jenny Hunt  
Treasurer Mike Bennett treasurer@wtu3a.org.uk
Deputy Treasurer Lewis (Lew) Ayres  
Membership Secretary Carol Johnson membership@wtu3a.org.uk
Deputy Membership Secretary Heather Marshall  
Webmaster Heather Macknight webmaster@wtu3a.org.uk
WT Groups Liaison Officer Post Vacant groups@wtu3a.org.uk
Local Liaison Officer Gaynor Edwards localliaison@wtu3a.org.uk
Publicity Officer / Newsletter Editor Mike Wise newsletter@wtu3a.org.uk
Booking in at Monthly meetings Janet Hawkins  
Accessibility Officer Rosemary Williams accessibility@wtu3a.org.uk
Committee Member Annie Edwards  

Non Committee Member Roles for 2018/2019

Speaker Secretary Heather Marshall speaker.secretary@wtu3a.org.uk
Trips Organisers Pat, Housego, Mandi Simons and Ann Edwards trips@wtu3a.org.uk
Christmas Meal Rosemary Williams and Pam Wilson xmaslunch@wtu3a.org.uk
Monthly Meeting Refreshments Lyn White refreshments@wtu3a.org.uk
Trusted Tradespeople Diana Richmond trusted@wtu3a.org.uk
‘Meet and Greet’ Organiser Pam Wilson meeters@wtu3a.org.uk

Membership

If you would like to join the Weston Turville U3A please click here to view and print the new member application form.  If you are an existing member and would like to renew your membership, please view and print the application form found here.  If you have any membership queries, please contact the Membership Secretary at membership@wtu3a.org.uk

Constitution

For the full text of our Constitution, please click (Constitution)

Newsletter

Please contact Mike Wise at newsletter@wtu3a.org.uk at least a two weeks before a monthly meeting to include articles in the newsletter.

Speaker Secretary

If you have heard a good speaker you think the Weston Turville U3A may enjoy listening to, please contact our Speaker Secretary, Heather Marshal at speaker.secretary@wtu3a.org.uk.

Our Privacy and Data Protection policies

See our Policies section here.  

Groups

Anyone belonging to the U3A may start a special interest group which may consist of just a few like-minded people upwards.  Our current groups range from Art to Walking and details can be found on the Group Activities page.  If you are interested in starting a new group,  full details about running a group at Weston Turville U3A can be found here, but please contact the Groups Liaison Officer in the first instance at groups@wtu3a.org.uk.